The ASCAP Foundation 2018 Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Awards


The ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Awards program recognizes books, articles and recording liner notes  on the subject of music selected for their excellence. The Awards were established in 1967 to honor the memory of composer, critic and commentator Deems Taylor, who died in 1966 after a distinguished career that included six years as President of ASCAP. The Awards were renamed in 2014 to also honor the memory of Virgil Thomson (1896 – 1989), one of the leading American composers and critics of the 20th Century, and a former member of the ASCAP board of directors.

How to Apply
More about the program